Managing activities

Manage activities and groups with ease using the activity manager. Add, delete, rename, hide and merge activities and groups.

Table of contents

Accessing the activity manager

You can manage activities and groups using the activity manager, which is accessible in two ways:

By clicking on Manage activities... in Daily's menu:

Manage activities menu item

Or by clicking an activity or group shown on the dashboard. This also automatically selects the activity or group:

Adding a group

Groups are automatically created when you provide an activity including a group that does not exist yet. However, you can also add a group manually by clicking the plus button. Provide a unique name and click Add.

Deleting a group

Delete a group by selecting it and clicking the delete (minus) button. The group will be deleted after confirmation. Deleting a group deletes all its activities and associated time and cannot be undone.

Renaming a group

Rename a group by selecting the group and clicking the rename (pencil) button. Alternatively double-click the group. Provide a new unique name and click Rename.

Merging groups

Merge groups by dragging the source group on the target group. Click Merge to confirm merging. Activities with the same name will be merged too.

Adding an activity

Activities are automatically created when you provide an activity that does not exist yet. However, you can also add an activity manually by selecting a group (or No group in case you want to add an ungrouped activity) and clicking the add (plus) button. Provide a unique name and click Add.

Deleting activities

Existing activities can be deleted by selecting one or more activities and either pressing the delete/backspace button on your keyboard or pressing the minus button at the bottom. You will be asked for confirmation.

Consider toggling the visibility (see below) of activities in order to hide them. This way, data doesn't get lost permanently as you will be able to show them again.

Renaming an activity

An activity can be renamed by either double-clicking it, or by selecting it and clicking the rename (pencil) button. You will be asked to enter a new unique name.

Moving or (un)grouping activities

You can move activities to another group, group them, or ungroup them, by dragging them to the target group. You will be asked for confirmation.

Merging activities

You can merge one or more activities into another activity. This will move associated time of the source activities to the target activity. You can do this by selecting one or more activities and dragging them onto the target activity. You will be asked for confirmation.

Toggling visibility of activities

Toggling the visibility of one or more activities allows you to:

  • Control whether the activities (and their recorded time) should be displayed on the dashboard and in exported data. The chart icon on the right of the activities indicates the status of this type of visibility.

  • Control whether the activities are suggested when Daily asks you to provide an activity (e.g. when it asks what you are doing). The selection icon on the right of the activities indicates the status of this type of visibility.

The visibility of individual activities can be managed by clicking the visibility icons directly. The visibility of multiple activities can be managed by selecting them and clicking the visibility icons at the bottom. Note that if you select multiple activities with a mixed visibility state, visibility is enabled.

Screenshot

Time tracking without being a pain.

Accurate time tracking by periodically asking what you are working on. No more timers, stopwatches, or note-taking.

Report your hours stress-free, create better invoices or increase your productivity.

Download for Mac